loading spinner

All reviews

By Maureen C. on 19 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Montblanc Meisterstück 149 Calligraphy gold fountain pen

Flexi nib!

This is my first MB! Initially I feel that the nib is a bit stiff (when compare to another flexi nib FB that I am using) but after a couple of days of using, I’m now getting used to it and am happy to bring it with me to practice calligraphy everywhere I like!

By lesley C. on 18 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Momento Zero Grande Sand fountain pen

Superb - Leonardo do it again with the Momento Zero Grande

As always - it’s been a delight purchasing this fountain pen from Frank at Fontoplumo - a most professional and friendly service.

I love this new line from Leonardo - as a fan of the Momento Zero range, I am hugely impressed with the Grande. Slightly larger than the standard Momento Zero it still fits comfortably in the hand and is a pleasure to write with - even on long writing sessions.

The addition of the piston filler and the large ink capacity combined with the absolutely beautiful Sand resin, with its sophisticated shades and lines, all make for a perfect combination. The steel nibs on the Momento Zero range - my preference is for a fine nib - are perfectly tuned.

I hope Leonardo continue with the Grande range - I already have my eye on the dark Hawaii

By Roman F. on 18 Sept. 2019 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Momento Zero blue positano fountain pen

Good value.

An attractive pen with good writing characteristics.

By Roman F. on 18 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Kaweco Sport Classic fountain pen green

Handy

A convenient carry-everywhere fountain pen with the added bonus of a very good nib. Great writer.

By Bojan D. on 12 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Kaweco Sport Classic fountain pen bordeaux

Classic, that's why I bought it

Some forty years ago I didn’t care much for fountain pens, but I saw green Kaweco Sport on the table in College and it got pressed in my memory. I really don’t know exactly why, I guess it happens few times in life.

A lot has been said about Kaweco Sport; good design, small, ergonomic, nice overall.

So I choose classic bordeaux gold trim (deliberately, I usually prefer silver). Everything about the pen is good enough for the price, F nib writes smooth and just wet enough. Fine and even molding line perpendicular to the cap doesn’t bother me at all. Yes, fine marks (scratches) from screwing the cap on the body appeared very soon, I guess it is the nature of plastic.

I strangely wish that Kaweco made this pen from ebonite again (hard rubber used for pipe stems and Kaweco pens in the past), it is more “serious” material, slightly heavier than plastic, needs some maintenance, but it is more pleasant. Well, maybe I'm getting old-fashioned.

___
5* for Price/Performance & History

By Anthony H. on 10 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : KWZ IG Aztec Gold fountain pen ink 60ml Iron Gall

Aztec Gold well behaved with my Bock 1.5 nib

KWZ Aztec Gold is a light brown ink which shades well with traces of grey gold and greenish tints. It dries very quickly with very little show through. This proves ideal with a 1.5 gold plated Bock nib, which I hoped to use for headings. I had tried Herbin’s Lie de Thé which is an ink I enjoy, but in this case the nib put down too much ink. Aztec Gold is better behaved with this broad italic nib, and as it is gold plated, I presume the weak IG content of this ink shouldn’t damage it (after a few months, I see no staining or clogging of the nib). As a further bonus, when it shades, its varying brown to gold tints correspond well with the mottled brown colour of my ebonite pen.

By Dirk B. on 04 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Opus 88 Picnic green fountain pen

As good as the brown one

No surprise here, this pen is as good as the brown one.
This pen and the brown one have safely made the trip by airplane to Ireland and back. Full with ink on the way there, half full on the way back. No leakage, the stopper-thing did it's job.

By Haruka O. on 04 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Aurora Oceano Glaciale Artico fountain pen LE480

From Japan

Fast shipping and very happy with the wonderful fountain pen.

By Siddharth L. on 01 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Momento Zero blue Hawaii fountain pen

You don't want to miss this Gorgeous Fountain pen!

My first review for this pen was contentious, since I had plenty of start up issues.

Frank immediately stepped in(super attentive) and suggested I try a different ink to see if my startup issues were resolved>
I followed his advise with a wet pilot ink and voila, I haven't put this beautiful pen down ever since! (about 8 days and counting......)
The Leonardo steel nib is a such a smooth joy to write with, I can only imagine the gold nib.....
Having owned a few vintage pens, including Omas - This is the new Gold standard!
(A request: Dear Leonardo can we have some music / zoom nibs on these beautiful pens?)

and finally a huge "Thank you" to Frank!

review reply  Hello, have you tried using a different ink? Contact us if the issue stays so we can solve it. review reply

Shop owner reply on 01 Sept. 2019
By david C. on 28 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Lamy grip section for Lamy Accent pens (special edition 2015)

Excellent addition to any Lamy Accent fan

Work great, look even better, my pen now has 5 looks and i really hope i can find more now.

By Warren W. on 26 Aug. 2019 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Momento Zero blue positano fountain pen

Hard starts and skips

I really wanted to like this pen, but even though FontoPlumo gave it a quick test, as I began using it I had constant skips and hard starts. I’ve cleaned it several times and used different kinds of ink. Folks at FontoPlumo have been on vacation and I’m waiting for a response. I hope they can remedy the situation!

Update: Customer Service from Frank was great and he shipped me a replacement nib/feed unit. Much better results although not perfect. Still some skipping at times, but at least it’s usable now. I’ll continue to try different inks and see what works best and may eventually need to send to a nibmeister. Based on my sample of two I’d say that the Leonardo nib/feeds aren’t of the same quality as the rest of the pen, which are gorgeous, feel good in the hand, and when they’re getting enough ink, write smoothly.

review reply  We will get back to your question you send per email in the next days and solve the issue review reply

Shop owner reply on 27 Aug. 2019
By Patrick W. on 25 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Conid Monarch Minimalistica Bulkfiller fountain pen

Amazing pen and service

Probably my favorite pen—and that’s saying an awful lot. Frank was timely and extremely helpful in communicating. Quick shipping.

By Orapim S. on 25 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Visconti Rembrandt red fountain pen

Elegant pen

Beautiful colour, good desisn, good pen, and fast delivery.

By Orapim S. on 25 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Opus 88 Picnic brown fountain pen

First eyedropper of mine

Good price, fast delivery, good pen.

By Sothasa T. on 23 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Kaweco Sport Skyline mechanical pencil grey 0.7mm

I like it!

It's small and comfortable in hand. It's also light and easy to carry.

By Sinan T. on 22 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Furore blue emerald and silver trim fountain pen

Quality meets beauty!

It was a birthday gift for my wife and she loved it. A very smooth writer and beautiful material (acrylic),that looks even better in person. It's chatoyance catches the light perfectly. Thanks Franck for the nice packaging and fast delivery. I will definitely come back for more pens

By Aznam O. on 19 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo ink Blue Mediterraneo 40ml bottled ink

Beautiful ink

This ink is as beautiful as it's named after. The colour is as per the bottle label, indeed a Mediterranean blue. Flows well with very nice shading and dries relatively fast. A must with a Leonardo pen!

By Aznam O. on 19 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Momento Zero blue positano fountain pen

Beautiful writing instrument

Can't go wrong with this pen. Beautiful resin & nib. Writes well out of the box. Good for small to medium-size hands. Good weight too.

By Yingsawad C. on 19 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Kaweco Sport Classic mechanical pencil 0.7mm black

Great smooth line product

Nice quality at the price! Small but firm to write. It also looks expensive than the product price

By Dirk B. on 16 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Opus 88 Picnic brown fountain pen

Perfect Fit

A perfect fit for my hand. The shape of the section is ideal for me. Add to that a good ink capacity and a nib that writes very good. I am very happy with this pen. Looks are not too bad either. Have bought the same pen in green.