loading spinner

All reviews

By Daniel B. on 16 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Aurora Optima Flex red fountain pen LE330

Great pen!

I was a bit worried about the pen's color, but the red is much nicer in real life then on the pictures, or at least it's more in the color range I like.
The pen is a real good everyday writer, but if you want to you can get nice line variation from the nib.
An interesting thing is, that the Optima capped is about as long as the regular Sailor Pro Gear, but uncapped, or posted it's longer. This makes it more comfortable for me to use, because the Pro Gear, and also PGS are a bit short for my hand unposted.

By Pranay G. on 16 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Aurora Optima Flex yellow fountain pen LE330

This pen is gorgeous!

I waited for a long time before pulling the trigger on this one, and nowI don't know why i waited this long. This is my first Aurora and an exceptional writer right out of the box. The nib is 14k Gold, with a lot of line variation without having to push too hard. The ink window is an added bonus. The only downside of this purchase is this might have opened up an "Aurora rabbithole" for me, and I'm pretty sure I can't afford to go down that way. All in all, I am extremely pleased by Frank's delivery and the service which was top notch as always (I don't even know why I bother buying pens from any other distributor). Can't wait to have some more Auroras in the future. Cheers!

By José A. N. on 12 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Kaweco Sport Sunset fountain pen - Fontoplumo Exclusive

Very nice pen

I love the color of this pen, and also it writes perfectly.

By Pavarej H. on 12 Jan. 2019 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Leuchtturm Bullet Journal Nordic Blue [A5]

Legendary notebook

Good quality binding and friendly to fountain pens.

By Hans V. on 11 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : KWZ Azure nr 5 fountain pen ink 60ml

hans van Pelt

This ink has aa good and easy flood!

By Hans V. on 11 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Montegrappa Game of Thrones Baratheon fountain pen

Hans van Pelt

This is a very special pen, it looks extraordinairy and it has the appropiate weight for my hand.
I have great hands and therefore I always need a considerable big pen to give me control over my handwriting.
Most of all this pen point gives a fine line, it gives as you wish "some resitance".

I need this so I can control my writing better, at the lower schools where i have been, teachers forced me to change from one sort of handwriting to the other, this have had a harmfull effect on my writing.
By exercising all over again, i was able to improve it.
This pen help me a lot with this.

Your sincerely, Hans van Pelt.

By Martin V. on 11 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Kaweco Sport Skyline fountain pen fox

Dank u Sinterklaasje

Lieve Sint, dit was een prachtige verrassing. De pen schrijft heerlijk en ik vind de kleur zo mooi.

By Martin V. on 11 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Kaweco Sport Skyline fountain pen mint

Fantastisch

Fijne pen, prachtige kleur

By Rebekah M. on 09 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Momento Zero Yellow Brick Road with Silver pebbles

First Leonardo

This is my first Leonardo pen ... a brand I didn't know much about before. I was in for a very positive surprise -- the stainless steel nib writes like a dream, and does actually lay down a FINE line. The pen is well balanced. Strangely enough it feels good both posted and unposted. Love the yellow colour.

By Anna V. on 05 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Kaweco Sport Sunset vulpen - Fontoplumo exclusief

bijzondere prettige vulpen

Ik heb deze pen besteld vanwege het vrolijke kleurtje dat lekker opvalt op mijn buro of in mijn tas dus niet meer mijn pen kwijt. Ik was wat angstig voor het schrijfgevoel. Mijn ervaring is dat goedkopere vulpennen vaak een "kras" gevoel geven. Ik schrijf altijd met medium en wilde nu een breed bestellen maar die was uitverkocht. Dusde M gekozen. Deze schrijft in de dikte van Fijn maar met het comfort van Medium! De pen hapert niet en geeft geen "kras" geluid of gevoel. Kleur en look en feel is top. Plastic pen maar wel netjes afgewerkt en voelt degelijk. Als je echt niet van dunschrijvers houdt, dan moet je echt de brede penpunt bestellen (of het experiment aangaan en gewoon proberen, wat gezien de prijs geen groot risico is). Order en levering door Fontoplumo prima in orde!

By Ronny G. on 02 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Lamy Imporium vulpen zwart / goud 14k punt

Uitstekende service

Vriendelijke en uitstekende service. De bestelde vulpen werd snel en degelijk verpakt geleverd ! Dank u !

By Johnnie D. on 31 Dec. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pelikan M805 Ocean Swirl fountain pen, special edition

Dream come true

I managed to have extra funds to finally justify buying this beauty. I’ve emailed every retailer to see if they could hold one for me, and only Frank replied. I’m very grateful to finally get one, and the pen writes beautifully out of the box.

The material looks incredible, and it always looks different depending on the angle and lighting. It’s breath taking and I can never stop admiring it.

Thank you Frank, thank you Fontoplumo for allowing me have my own Ocean Swirl. It’s been a wonderful pen, and it will stay with me forever.

By Phillip B. on 30 Dec. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Momento Zero Abyss celluloid fountain pen

Excellent Pen!

Incredibly well designed for comfort and long writing. Very beautiful design that is not flashy. Pen is very light but feels substantial. Note that the medium gold nib runs somewhat broad with many inks. Behaves well with certain inks, though. And Fonto service is, as always, is a model of customer service. Lightning fast shipping. Thanks!

By Phillip B. on 30 Dec. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Conid Monarch Minimalistica Bulkfiller fountain pen

Excellent Pen!

Perfect size and all the ingenuity of the Conid design (bulkfiller). Well built and great for long writing. I own two Kingsize bulkfillers which I love, but this is a more manageable size. And ordering through Fonto means no wait time as from Conid directly.

By Ozilinah O. on 27 Dec. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Kaweco Sport for 2 pens leather penpouch chili pepper

Chili Red

The penpouch is as thin as leather can get. Truly love the smell of leather that came with it. Fits 2 kaweco pens just nice. The colour is as advertised - it is Chili Red.

By Ozilinah O. on 27 Dec. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Lamy Studio royal red fountain pen special edition

Not exactly red

If you like the Lamy, the Studio another popular design aside from the Safari. I had expected the colour to be red but I feel that this more orange than red. The Rubin Red Lamy Studio has a better red colour.

By Jennifer L. on 23 Dec. 2018 :
(3/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Momento Zero Mediterraneo 2 Blue celluloid fountain pen

Huge disappointment

Unfortunately this pen is a huge disappointment for me. I received this pen on Dec. 05 2018 so I've had it for two weeks now. I was unable to return it for a myriad of reasons which I will list below.

1. This pen is like the Pelikan M805 Ocean Swirl. You can get a beautiful one with lots of bright swirls or you can get one that has huge swathes of dark patches. Mine is the latter which I could have lived with if it didn't have the other issues. Having said that if you are planning on buying this pen I highly recommend you ask your vendor to send you pictures of the exact unit you are buying. I understand that celluloid will have variations but if you want a pen that looks like the images you see online you should ask for photos to be sure that's what you're getting. If you're wondering what I mean about dark patches you can see mine here: https://imgur.com/a/mLXLYY3

2. The piston is incredibly stiff. I was not necessarily expecting Pelikan or Aurora levels of smooth (even though the price is similar or higher) however this feels like the TWSBI 580 I had when the grease inside began to run dry. Unfortunately there is no way to add a little more grease to help lubricate it because if you remove the nib you void your warranty.

3. The nib. Here is where I have the biggest problem. The nib has slight baby's bottom (and so too does the other Leonardo Momento Zero I received on the same day) and is missing a bit near the top of the nib on one tine. I don't have a camera that can take such fine close ups but here's a very basic doodle to give you an idea of the nibs: https://imgur.com/scqbbmO
The pens do write and this one is such a wet writer that it covers up the problem very well but it will give occasional hard starts. However at this price point I have trouble stomaching the spotty nib quality. The Matte Black I purchased is dry and hard starts frequently. I will have to send it out to be worked on.

Now I asked Frank to test the pens before shipping which he very graciously did and he included the test cards as proof. Unfortunately because I saw the test cards I went ahead and inked up the pens which meant I could no longer return them. I am not blaming Frank for this problem but rather mentioning it here so potential buyers can be aware.

The frustrating thing about the Leonardo pens is that the bodies are beautiful and well made. If they would only take the time to actually LOOK at their nibs before sending them out I think they would be stellar. The resin pen is at a much lower price point so it's not quite so upsetting but this Mediterraneo is a limited edition of 100 pens at much higher price. Would it have hurt them to check it before shipping?

For these reasons I cannot recommend this pen to anyone unless they are willing to have additional warranty voiding work done afterwards. At the price these are going for I think you can get much better pens from other makers like a limited edition Aurora or Pelikan which, while the possibility of QC problems exists, have easily exchangeable nibs that won't void your warranty. These pens have the potential to be superb but fall short on silly QC issues.

I sincerely hope Leonardo takes the time to start checking their nibs before shipping out pens at this cost. It is the heart and soul of any fountain pen and I feel that they may have focused too much on the aesthetics of their pens before the actual function. A little QC would go a long way.

By Linda O. on 19 Dec. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Platinum Procyon Deep Sea fountain pen

Platinum Procyon Deep Sea

The Platinum Procyon Deep Sea fountain pen is a good everyday pen. The fine nib provides enough ink to work well on all types of paper, even lower quality paper.

By Ventura M. on 16 Dec. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Leonardo Furore blue emerald and silver trim fountain pen

Absolutely nice fountain pen.

Really a Beautiful Fountain pen by all meanings. Great classic torpedo shape, that remembers a little bit the Omas Ogiva. Combined with a beautiful acrylic and a great steel nib. It’s a perfect design. The only con I can find about it is that the price is a bit more expensive than the Momento Zero. Absolutely recommended fountain pen.

By Lonneke D. on 14 Dec. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Opus 88 Demonstrator fountain pen

Fijn pen

Heerlijke vulpen om mee te schrijven met een enorme inktcapaciteit.